This is the "Home" page of the "Biblical Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Biblical Studies   Tags: bible, christianity, commentaries, religion  

This guide serves as an introduction to library sources related to Bible research.
Last Updated: Jul 3, 2014 URL: http://huntington.libguides.com/content.php?pid=146891 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction to Bible Research

The sources listed in this guide have been selected to help you develop a better understanding of the Bible. The guide will include sources for background information such as encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as sources for biblical interpretation such as commentaries and criticisms. If you need help please contact a librarian. If you would like something included in the guide let us know.

 

General Resource Tools

Before you head off into particular sources in pursuit of your research you may want to consult one of these encyclopedias or dictionaries that will give you some bacground on your topic.

Cover Art
Anchor Bible dictionary
Call Number: Ref. BS440 .A54 1992
ISBN: 0385193602
Up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship.

Cover Art
New Interpreter’s dictionary of the Bible
Call Number: Ref BS440 .N443 2006
ISBN: 9780687333462
"The New Interpreter's® Dictionary of the Bible (NIDB) in five volumes provides the best quality in contemporary biblical scholarship on a comprehensive range of topics from the Old and New Testaments, the Deuterocanonical books, and from contextual studies of the ancient Near East and the Greco-Roman worlds and their literatures. The dictionary contains maps, charts, and illustrations to further clarify the written material. The biblical text used is the NRSV translation.

A diverse group of 900 scholars from 40 countries have contributed 7100 fresh new articles with 8400 entries including persons, places, things, theological concepts, and much more. These contributors were selected by the editorial board for their expertise in their field and for the quality of their scholarship in publication. Special care was taken to select authors who could provide a variety of perspectives from different theological traditions (Protestant, Catholic, Jewish), diverse theological trajectory (conservative and liberal), and from the social locations of gender, ethnicity, and race. "

Cover Art
Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible - Merrill C. Tenney
Call Number: Ref BS440 .Z63 2009
ISBN: 0310241367
“The newly released Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible is a comprehensive study tool to be considered a core reference work of value to families, college and lay students, as well as pastors and more serious scholars. Clearly written in a contemporary style and presented in a user-friendly format, this updated version of a classic reference work is an excellent resource for homeschool study. Presenting information on both the biblical text and historical context of Scripture, The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible clearly articulates the vast gamut of knowledge foundational to a study of Scripture.” — Shelly Beach, award-winning author and contributor to The NIV Stewardship Resource Bible

My Profile

Profile Image
Randy Neuman
Contact Info
RichLyn Library
Huntington University
Huntington, IN 46750
260.359.4062
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip