Biblical Studies: Find Articles
This guide serves as an introduction to library sources related to Bible research.
Full Text Periodicals
If you wish to check if you have full text access to a particular journal click on this link, search the journal title, and the results will show if it is full text in a database and which one.
- A to Z Periodicals ListSearch by title or ISSN all journals, magazines, and newspapers available to RichLyn Library patrons.
How Do I Access... Journal articles available through the RichLyn Library Databases?
- How can I access journal articles?This guide will walk you through the steps you need to take to access credible, scholarly journal article sources for your research.
Databases
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowPremier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. (HU login required)
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowReligion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full access to hundreds of scholarly journals usually back to the beginning of the journal. Most have a 5-6 year embargo on new issues.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Using the ATLA Scripture Index
- Using the ATLA Database Scripture IndexThe Scripture Index in the ATLA Database is a valuable tool. Although you can combine ATLA with other databases and search all of them simultaneously the Scripture Index is unique and you have to access ONLY the ATLA database to use that particular index. This guide walks you through the steps you need to take to utilize this tool.
ATLA Video Tutorials
- Three Methods to Search for Biblical Scripture Citations
- Maximizing Your Search: Filtering and Refining
- Maximizing Your Search: Boolean, Truncation and Advanced Search Topics
More to Explore
RichLyn Library also has some other very fine indexes in print form that will add valuable information to your research.
- Old Testament abstractsCall Number: Reference: BS410 .O42
- New Testament abstractsCall Number: Reference: BS410 .N35