This is the "Home" page of the "Music" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Music   Tags: music, musicians, musicology  

A guide to Music resources
Last Updated: Jul 23, 2013 URL: http://huntington.libguides.com/music Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Music

All music resources (except reference material) in the RichLyn Library are arranged by the Library of Congress Classification System. The call number for a music resource most likely will start with M. Below is a list of major catagories within the M classification.

Scores & Sound Recordings
M1-M3 Collections
M4-M1490 Instrumental
M20-M39 Piano
M1000-M1356.2 Orchestral
M1495-M2199 Vocal
M1497-M1998 Secular Vocal
M1500-M1527.8 Opera, Musicals
M1999-M2199 Sacred Vocal
Books
ML1-ML3930 Literature of Music
ML159-ML3799 History and Criticism
MT1-MT960 Musical Instruction & Study
 

Types of Resources in Music

BOOKS

We have about 1450 titles classifed as music on our shelves. These will be found on the upper level. See side bar for a break down of the arrangement. In addition the library has access to an additional 700 titles through our ebooks services.

SCORES

The library houses about 2200 printed scores on the upper level northeast quadrant. We also have 58 collections of scores on compact disk that can be checked out and you can print your own score. Click here to access the list of the compact disc score collections.

RECORDINGS

Our collection of compact discs are housed on the upper level northeast quadrant . Please take the case to the Circulation Desk to pick up the actual disc. The library also has a collection of vinyl records that have been archived. To retrieve a vinyl record first search the catalog for the correct title and call number. Submit the information to the attendant at the Circulation Desk. The vinyl record will be retrieved for you and available for pick-up at the Circulation Desk within 24 hours.

DVDS

Our media collection contains a number of Operas and Musicals for viewing. They are housed on the lower level of the library along the wall near the United Brethren Historical Center. Search the catalog for the specific title.

 

Introducing Primo

Primo is a discovery and delivery system for local and remote resources, combining into one search books, articles, media and digital resources. Using Primo's advanced functions you are able to save and organize results and select similar resources.

When you search Primo you are searching our Library Catalog and Full Text Databases (Ebsco, JStor, etc.) simultaneously. With Primo you can narrow results by date, format, subject and several other facets. Primo is searching for the new millennium!

My Profile

Profile Image
Randy Neuman
Contact Info
RichLyn Library
Huntington University
Huntington, IN 46750
260.359.4062
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip