Biblical Studies: Home
This guide serves as an introduction to library sources related to Bible research.
Introduction to Bible Research
The sources listed in this guide have been selected to help you develop a better understanding of the Bible. The guide will include sources for background information such as encyclopedias and dictionaries as well as sources for biblical interpretation such as commentaries and criticisms. If you need help please contact a librarian. If you would like something included in the guide let us know.
Library Hours and Contact Information
- Library WebpageYou may use this link to determine the library hours, to access personnel contact information, and to access the resources available to you for your research.
General Resource Tools
Before you head off into particular sources in pursuit of your research you may want to consult one of these encyclopedias or dictionaries that will give you some bacground on your topic.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by Call Number: Ref. BS440 .A54 1992ISBN: 0385193602Publication Date: 1992-06-01Contains over six thousand alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about developments and issues associated with the study of the Bible, covering people and places, versions of the Bible, methodologies of Bible scholarship, and historical and archaeological subjects, and includes illustrations, cross-references, and bibliographies.
The New Interpreter's Dictionary of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .N443 2006ISBN: 9780687333462Publication Date: 2009-08-01The most complete coverage of theological topics This dictionary is the definitive starting point for research on any topic, place or person in the Bible, with emphasis on the crucial theological concepts. Based on the NRSV. Unparalleled quality of information Written by 900 scholars, experts in their fields, from 40 nations and a variety of perspectives and diverse theological commitments. Totally new entries 7100 fresh, original articles. Also contains 1300 distinct cross-reference entries. Balanced and relevant content For any pastor, rabbi, preacher, teacher, or student who is preparing to serve the congregation. Theological content and thorough discussion of various interpretations is tailored for congregational use. It will become your most trusted companion!
The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible by Call Number: Ref BS440 .Z63 2009ISBN: 0310241367Publication Date: 2009-09-30The Zondervan Encyclopedia of the Bible has been a classic Bible study resource for more than thirty years. Now thoroughly revised, this new five-volume edition provides up-to-date entries based on the latest scholarship. Beautiful full-color pictures supplement the text, which includes new articles in addition to thorough updates and improvements of existing topics. Different viewpoints of scholarship permit a wellrounded perspective on significant issues relating to doctrines, themes, and biblical interpretation. The goal remains the same: to provide pastors, teachers, students, and devoted Bible readers a comprehensive and reliable library of information.* More than 5,000 pages of vital information on Bible lands and people* More than 7,500 articles alphabetically arranged for easy reference* Hundreds of full-color and black-and-white illustrations, charts, and graphs* 32 pages of full-color maps and hundreds of black-and-white outline maps for ready reference* Scholarly articles ranging across the entire spectrum of theological and biblical topics, backed by the most current body of archaeological research* 238 contributors from around the world
Subject Guide
Randy Neuman
Contact:
RichLyn Library
Huntington University
2303 College Avenue
Huntington, IN 46750
Huntington University
2303 College Avenue
Huntington, IN 46750
(260) 359-4062
Subjects: Music, United Brethren Historical Center