Academic Writing and Research - EN 121: Find E-Reference Sources
This guide is a supplement to the course Academic Writing and Research and provides a guide to library resources in completing your research paper.
Credo Reference
Credo is an easy-to-use tool for starting research. Use this box to search hundreds of full-text reference titles, as well as 500,000+ images and audio files and over 1,000 videos.
Online Reference EBook Collections
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new windowFormerly Gale Virtual Reference Library this source is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
-
Salem Press Online Collection This link opens in a new windowSalem Press Online Collection contains a variety of reference titles for Literature, History, Medicine and Science.
Subject Reference Sources
-
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new windowIt covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
-
Heinonline This link opens in a new windowHeinonline encompasses a number of legal, government, historical and political science databases.
-
History Reference Source This link opens in a new windowHistory Reference Center offers full text from more than 1,620 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 150 leading history periodicals, nearly 57,000 historical documents, more than 78,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 113,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
-
Points of View Reference Source This link opens in a new windowContaining resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.
-
Science Reference Source This link opens in a new windowScience Reference Center is a comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc.
Oxford Reference Online
Subject reference sources published by Oxford University Press including language references and cross-searchable dictionaries.
Oxford English Dictionary
-
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new windowThe accepted authority on the evolution of the English language, it is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words.