Music: Other Reference Sources
A guide to Music resources
General Music Reference
Book of World-Famous Music by Call Number: Ref ML113 .F8 1971ISBN: 9780517502983Publication Date: 1971-03-01
A Dictionary of Musical Quotations by Call Number: Ref ML66 .C86 1985ISBN: 0028706226Publication Date: 1989-07-01
Dictionary of Music Education by Call Number: Ref MT1 .E49 2005ISBN: 1579994660Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dictionary of Musical Technology by Call Number: Ref ML102.E4 C37 1992ISBN: 0313286949Publication Date: 1992-08-30
Encyclopedia of Musical Instruments by Call Number: Ref ML460 .E62 1996ISBN: 9780765197825Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Handbook of Research on Music Teaching and Learning by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0028705017Publication Date: 1992-03-01
Hutchinson Concise Dictionary of Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781859865477Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Hutchinson Pocket Dictionary of Classical Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781859865637Publication Date: 2005-01-01
The Music Teacher's Book of Lists by Call Number: MT10 .R775 1994ISBN: 0130938327Publication Date: 1994-05-27
Musical Terms, Symbols and Theory by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781476615264Publication Date: 2012-01-25
The New Everyman Dictionary of Music by Call Number: Ref ML100 .B47 1989ISBN: 1555843360Publication Date: 1989-04-01
The New Grove Dictionary of American Music by Call Number: Ref ML101.U6 N48 1986ISBN: 0943818362Publication Date: 2002-01-01
The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians by Call Number: Reference ML100 .N484 2001 or OnlineISBN: 1561592390Publication Date: 2003-02-11
The New Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: Ref ML100 .N485 1986ISBN: 0674615255Publication Date: 1986-10-01
The New Oxford Companion to Music by Call Number: Ref ML100 .N489 1983ISBN: 0193113163Publication Date: 1983-11-17
Recorded Classical Music by Call Number: Ref ML156.9 .C63 1981ISBN: 9780028706405Publication Date: 1981-12-01
Selected Musical Terms of Non-Western Cultures by Call Number: Ref ML108 .K37 1990ISBN: 0899900399Publication Date: 1990-09-01
Teaching Music Through Performance in Band by Call Number: Cur Prof 784.4407 T253ISBN: 0941050939Publication Date: 1996-11-01- Teaching Music Through Performance in Choir byCall Number: Cur Prof 782.507 T2535tISBN: 9781579995140Publication Date: 2005-01-01
- Teaching Music Through Performance in Orchestra byCall Number: Cur Prof 784.2 T253oISBN: 9781579991500Publication Date: 2001-06-01
Musical Theatre
American song : the complete musical theatre companion by Call Number: Ref ML128.M78 B6ISBN: 0028704843
Broadway Musicals Show by Show by Call Number: Ref ML1711 .G735 1987ISBN: 9780881887617Publication Date: 1988-01-01
The Broadway song companion : an annotated guide to musical theatre literature by voice type ... by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0810833735- Catalog of the American musical : musicals of Irving Berlin, George & Ira Gershwin byCall Number: Ref ML128.M8 K7 1988ISBN: 0961857501
The Complete Book of 1950s Broadway Musicals by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781442235045Publication Date: 2014
The Complete Book of 1960s Broadway Musicals by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781442230729Publication Date: 2014
Movie musicals on record : a directory of recordings of motion picture musicals, 1927-1987 by Call Number: ML156.4.M6 L9 1989ISBN: 0313265402- The musical : from Broadway to Hollywood byCall Number: ML2075 .D8 1980ISBN: 9780498022821Publication Date: 1979
- Musicals! : a directory of musical properties available for production byCall Number: Ref ML19 .L9 1984ISBN: 9780838904046
New Complete Book of the American Musical Theater by Call Number: Ref ML1711 .E9 1970ISBN: 9780030850608Publication Date: 1970-01-01
The Oxford companion to the American musical : theatre, film, and television by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195335330
Show tunes : the songs, shows, and careers of Broadway's major composers by Call Number: Ref ML128.M78 S86 2010ISBN: 0195125991
Biographies
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of 20th Century Classical Music by Call Number: Ref ML105 .S612 1997ISBN: 0028712714Publication Date: 1997-01-01
The Compleat Mozart by Call Number: Ref MT145.M7 Z4 1990ISBN: 0393028860Publication Date: 1991-02-17
Composers of Today by Call Number: Ref ML105 .E94 1936ISBN: 9781258182465Publication Date: 2011-10-01
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780674372993Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Musicians and Composers of the 20th Century by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9781587655128Publication Date: 2009-05-08
The Norton-Grove Dictionary of Woman Composers by Call Number: Ref ML105 .N66 1994ISBN: 0393034879Publication Date: 1995-09-17
Popular American Composers by Call Number: Ref ML390 .E845 1962ISBN: 9780824200404Publication Date: 1962-01-01
The Twentieth-Century Composer Speaks by Call Number: Ref ML118 .N57 1993ISBN: 9780914913290Publication Date: 1993-01-01
Vocal Music
Exploring Twentieth-Century Vocal Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780195141986Publication Date: 2002-07-25
The Great Song Thesaurus by Call Number: Ref ML128.S3 L4 1989ISBN: 0195054083Publication Date: 1989-02-09
Guide to Operatic Duets by Call Number: Ref ML102.O6 B64 1994ISBN: 9781877761652Publication Date: 1994-02-01
Guide to Operatic Roles and Arias by Call Number: Ref ML102.O6 B65 1994ISBN: 1877761648Publication Date: 1994-02-01
The New Grove Dictionary of Opera by Call Number: Ref ML102.O6 N51 1992ISBN: 9780935859928Publication Date: 2002-01-01
A Guide to the Latin American Art Song Repertoire by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780253003966Publication Date: 2010-04-29
Opera Libretto Library by Call Number: Ref ML48 .O6 1980ISBN: 9780517318836Publication Date: 1984-10-17
Schubert's Complete Song Texts by Call Number: ML54.6.S39 G515 1996ISBN: 9781878617194Publication Date: 1996
Instrumental Music
Cobbett's Cyclopedic Survey of Chamber Music by Call Number: Ref ML1100 .C7 1963ISBN: 0193183048Publication Date: 1987-01-15
A Dictionary of Pianists by Call Number: Ref ML105 .L9 1985ISBN: 9780029192504Publication Date: 1985-08-01
Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments by Call Number: Ref ML102.K5 E53 1994ISBN: 9780824056858Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Guide to the Euphonium Repertoire by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780253348111Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, Fourth Edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780253010230Publication Date: 2013-12-03
The Pianist's Bookshelf by Call Number: ML128.P3 H534 1998ISBN: 0253333326Publication Date: 1998-01-01
The Pianist's Dictionary by Call Number: Ref ML102.P5 H46 2004ISBN: 9780253344052Publication Date: 2004-06-01
Music History
Music since 1900 by Call Number: Ref ML197 .S634 1971ISBN: 9780684105505Publication Date: 1971-10-01
The New Oxford History of Music vol. 1 by Call Number: Ref ML160 .N44ISBN: 9780193163010Publication Date: 1957-12-31
Twentieth Century Music by Call Number: Ref ML197 .B85 1984ISBN: 9780871964649Publication Date: 1984-05-01
Companion to Baroque Music by Call Number: Ref ML193 .C56 1991ISBN: 9780028722757Publication Date: 1991-12-01
The Garland Handbook of Latin American Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780415961011Publication Date: 2007-10-24
The Garland Handbook of Southeast Asian Music by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780415960755Publication Date: 2008-03-10
Hymns & Church Music
American Hymns Old and New by Call Number: Ref M2117 .A573 1980ISBN: 9780231034586Publication Date: 1980-08-22
Catalogue of Choral Music Arranged in Biblical Order by Call Number: ML128.C54 L4ISBN: 9780810815926Publication Date: 1983-01-01
Hymntune Index and Related Hymn Materials by Call Number: ML3186 .W2 1998ISBN: 9780810834361Publication Date: 1998-10-01
The New Oxford Book of Carols by Call Number: Ref M2065 .N48 1992ISBN: 9780193533233Publication Date: 1992-11-05
Popular Music
Listings with blue titles are ebooks
Encyclopedia of Rap and Hip Hop Culture by Call Number: Ref ML102.R27 B96 2006ISBN: 0313330581Publication Date: 2005-12-30
The Guinness Encyclopedia of Popular Music by Call Number: Ref ML102.P66 G84 1992ISBN: 9780851129396Publication Date: 1992-11-01
Jazz
The Biographical Encyclopedia of Jazz by Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 F39 1999ISBN: 0195074181Publication Date: 1999-11-18
The Encyclopedia of Jazz by Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 F43 1960ISBN: 9780818012037Publication Date: 1960-01-01
The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz by Call Number: Ref ML102.J3 N48 1988ISBN: 9780935859393Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Rock
Encyclopedia of Rock by Call Number: Ref ML102.R6 H37 1988ISBN: 9780029195628Publication Date: 1988-06-01
The International Encyclopedia of Hard Rock and Heavy Metal by Call Number: Ref ML102.R6 J37 1985ISBN: 9780816011001Publication Date: 1985-03-01
The Rock Who's Who by Call Number: Ref ML102.R6 H51 1996ISBN: 0028710312Publication Date: 1996-11-01
Shake, Rattle and Roll by Call Number: Ref ML3534 .C69 1989ISBN: 9780876502464Publication Date: 1989-01-01
Bibliographies
Cross Index Title Guide to Classical Music by Call Number: ML113 .P34 1987ISBN: 0313255318Publication Date: 1987-01-19
Sourcebook for Research in Music, Third Edition by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 9780253014566Publication Date: 2015-06-01
