Psychopharmacology: Databases and Online Resources
Database Use
As you can see, the Huntington University Library offers a great selection of academic databases for our students to access. Please check the scope of the databases (explanation under the link) to determine which is best to use for your particular topic.
Some tips of the “trade”:
- If you are studying a particular drug and don’t know the proper name just put the name you know in the search box as a keyword. Nine times out of ten the results will come up with the proper name of the drug and you can copy and paste that name in to the search box to get better results.
- Some of these databases are under the EBSCOHost “umbrella” you can search them simultaneously by clicking on “Choose Databases” found just above the search boxes.
- If you are not positive what you want to research you can type psychopharmacology in the search box then look at the facets available in the left column of the database. If you see the box Subject: Major Heading and click on the words “Show more” at the bottom of the box you will see other suggestions relating to issues or specific drugs. If you click on the box to the left of the subjects that interest you the sources will be sorted out of the original search.
- If you find a title that is JUST PERFECT but is not a full text article please click on the “Click here for possible full text options” link first and if the next screen doesn’t give you other options click on Request ILL and we will get the article for you through Interlibrary Loan.
- If the article title seems to look good but you are not sure, click on the title and you will get further information on the next screen including the Abstract of the article. That will help you determine if it is worth requesting.
As always, need help? Please email me.
Other Online Sources
Some of the sources indicated in these websites may not be available to you full text. Copy the title of the ARTICLE and use the search box for the online catalog. Paste the article title in there and the catalog will search for the article. If it is full text in any of our databases you will be able to access it from there. Otherwise, if it is not full text I would suggest you search MEDLINE and CINAHL simultaneously for the article. If it is indexed in those databases you will be able to use the Request ILL link to request it on Interlibrary Loan
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
- American Society of Clinical PsychopharmacologyThe mission of the American Society of Clinical Psychopharmacology is to advance the science and practice of clinical psychopharmacology.
- National Institutes of HealthNIH’s mission is to seek fundamental knowledge about the nature and behavior of living systems and the application of that knowledge to enhance health, lengthen life, and reduce illness and disability.
Databases
- Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new windowThis database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowCINAHL complete is a comprehensive source of full-text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1,300 journals indexed in CINHAL
- Health Source: Consumer Edition This link opens in a new windowA collection of consumer health information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health
Health Source: Consumer Edition provides access to nearly 80 full text, consumer health magazines. - Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new windowThis database provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. - MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMEDLINE with Full Text provides the authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences found on MEDLINE, plus the database provides full text for more than 1,470 journals indexed in MEDLINE. Of those, nearly 1,450 have cover-to-cover indexing in MEDLINE.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowThe American Psychological Association's (APA) definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowRenowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Access to over 900 peer-reviewed journals. SAGE Premier offers broad interdisciplinary coverage of a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.