Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
Fort Wayne and Arizona Resource Centers
Academic Center for Excellence/Writing Center
United Brethren Historical Center/Archives

Library Services

Campus Guest Access

RichLyn Library subscribes to a number of internet services for the research needs of our patrons. Several of the resources are indexes to periodical articles but many also index newspapers, reports, pamphlets, books, and various other media. The following links are available only on the campus of Huntington University and are provided for Walk-In Users and Guests of the University.

Article Databases


America's Historical Newspapers

Huntington subscribes to a part of the set called Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1786.
Series 1 offers more than 700 historical American newspapers from 23 states and the District of Columbia printed between 1690 and 1876. Focusing largely on the 18th century, Series 1 is based on Clarence S. Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and other authoritative bibliographies.  

Ebscohost

Ebscohost is produced by Ebsco Information Services. The company provides a variety of services to libraries including full-text and bibliographic databases. There are currently 28 different databases available as part of our Ebscohost package. These databases range from the general MasterFILE premier to the more specific Clinical Pharmacology.

Heinonline

Heinonline encompasses a number of legal, government, historical and political science databases.

JSTOR

The library subscribes to two JSTOR collections, "Arts & Sciences II & V" and "Mathematics and Statistics." The collections provide access to approximately 270 journals in the disciplines of archaeology, economics, history, Asian studies, political science, literature, philosophy, classics, religion, art, sociology, mathematics, and statistics as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences.  

 

Reference Resources

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.

Credo Reference

Credo Reference is an online reference service made up of full-text books from the world's best publishers. Whether you're working on a research paper, trying to win trivia, or just curious, Credo Reference has something for you.

EBSCO Animals

EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals offers in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. Designed mainly for the elementary school student, the database provides students with thousands of easy-to-read entries about mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, dinosaurs, and prehistoric animals. Each entry begins with a simple category breakdown of the animal including Kingdom, Class, Order, Genus & Species, and Geographical Locale as well as a detailed description.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Titles include:

  • The Encyclopedia of Leadership
  • Encyclopedia of Education
  • Ancient Europe, 8000 BC-1000 AD: An Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
  • Encyclopedia of European Social History
  • Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
  • Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East and North Africa
  • Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
  • Encyclopedia of Religion
  • New Catholic Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia of Bioethics

IBISWorld

IBISWorld reports contain trends, statistics, and analysis on market size, market share of competitors, and industry growth rates. This analysis is contained in Huntington University's basic subscription to US Industry Market Research. The database also contains performance analysis including emerging industry trends as well as recent production performance. Each report is updated between one and four times a year. HU's subscription also includes US Risk Reports which analyzes non-financial information, such as operational and structural hazards that need to be identified and quantified simultaneously to determine an industry's overall financial risk position within the next 12-18 months. IBISWorld can be used by business majors to evaluate over 700 US industries or as a career tool with resources that cover industries where students may be seeking employment or internship opportunities.

Magill's Medical Guide

Magill's Medical Guide from Salem Press is the full-text online version of the print medical encyclopedia by the same name.

Masterplots

Masterplots analyzes the most important works in all genres—long fiction, short fiction, poetry, drama, and nonfiction—throughout history and around the world, helping to define and critique the literary canon.

Oxford Art Online 

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online and includes the full text of the 34-volume print edition of The Dictionary of Art – PLUS specially-commissioned articles and updated bibliographies only available online. The Oxford Companion to Western Art, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms are also included. Over 2,000 additional color images from the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Art Images for College Teaching and 500 new images of modern and contemporary art are embedded in the text of articles.

Oxford English Dictionary

The Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

Oxford Music Online

Cross-search the full text (with updated content and bibliographies) of the 29-volume print edition of New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition), the 4-volume New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and the 3-volume New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2nd edition), plus specially-commissioned articles only available online. Over 50,000 articles chart the diverse history and culture of music and musicians from around the world, from pre-history to the present day.

Oxford Reference

Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource.
The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press, including detailed information across a broad subject range from titles in the world-renowned Oxford Companions series.

Reference USA Business Directory

ReferenceUSA provides quality information to help you search for jobs by location and industry, find new business opportunities, research executives and companies worldwide, track down addresses and phone numbers, find news articles for research, locate out-of-town companies, or profile a neighborhood, city, or state.

Salem History

Salem History provides electronic access to the following titles:

  • Encyclopedia of American Immigration
  • Great Events from History: The Eighteenth Century
  • Great Lives from History: The Eighteenth Century
  • Musicians and Composers of the Twentieth Century