Theology
Guide to Finding E-Journals and Articles.
E-Journals at RichLyn Library are found in the various database to which the university subscribes. The that offer the most sources in the area of religion are listed below.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowPremier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. (HU login required)
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowReligion & Philosophy Collection™ provides extensive coverage of such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy. With more more than 300 full text journals, the Religion & Philosophy Collection is an essential tool for researchers and students of theology and philosophical studies.
- Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new windowHumanities Full Text™ includes many of the most important academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984.
Other Key Databases in the Social Sciences
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
- Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new windowSocial Sciences Full Text™ provides access to a wide assortment of the most important English-language journals published in the social sciences.
- PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowRenowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowThe American Psychological Association's (APA) definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology.
- Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new windowPsychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. This is the world's largest full text psychology database offering full text coverage for nearly 400 journals.
- ERIC This link opens in a new windowThe Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources
The database provides access to information from journals included in the "Current Index of Journals in Education" and "Resources in Education Index".
The following databases are more general in scope but offer a significant percentage of religious journals.
- Sage Premier This link opens in a new windowAccess to over 900 peer-reviewed journals. SAGE Premier offers broad interdisciplinary coverage of a wide range of subject areas, including business, humanities, social science, and science, technology and medicine.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full access to hundreds of scholarly journals usually back to the beginning of the journal. Most have a 5-6 year embargo on new issues.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowDesigned for academic institutions, this database is a leading resource for scholarly research. It supports high-level research in the key areas of academic study by providing journals, periodicals, reports, books and more.
Collections of E-Journals on Religion
Requesting an Interlibrary Loan from the ATLA or Religion & Philosophy databases
After searching any of the Ebscohost databases you will most likely come up with a "Results List." Many on the lists will be full text PDFs or HTMLs but a few may appear as having no full text. See result number 2 below:
In Result 2 you will see two options circled in red. Click on either Get Full Text or Check for Full Text first. It is possible that the article may be in another database we have purchased. This link will take you to LibKey where it will tell you there is access to this article through RichLyn Library.
Just click on the Download PDF button to retrieve the article.
For other entries you may get a result that indicates that the material is not available through any of our databases. For example the 4th entry on this list will produce a different result.
In this case LibKey indicates that the item is not available locally. At this point please click on the Request Interlibrary Loan button at the bottom of the screen.
This link will take you to the WorldCat Interlibrary Loan form below.