How to Use JSTOR

Journals

JSTOR contains the full-text of more than 2,600 journals from 1,200 publishers, with publication dates ranging from 1665 to 2015 (for certain titles). Journals are available in more than 75 disciplines in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and mathematics. 

Ebooks

JSTOR contains more than 85,000 ebooks from academic publishers. The ebooks work just like journals, offering unlimited use and DRM-free chapter downloads in PDF format.

Primary Sources

JSTOR offers millions of primary sources across four collections, supporting research and teaching in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. While Open Community Collections initative provides free access to a diverse collection of images and primary sources from the special collections of libraries, museums, and archives around the world.

Is all journal content on JSTOR peer reviewed? Nearly all of the journals collected in JSTOR are peer-reviewed publications, but the archives also contain primary sources and content that is much older than today's standard peer-review process. 

Why can't I access the full-text of all content on JSTOR? Libraries can select different collections on JSTOR, and your library may not subscribe to all collections. Contact your librarian for more information.

What is the "moving wall?" Much of the journal content on JSTOR has a "moving wall," a set period of time (usually three to five years) between a journal issue’s publication date and its availability as archival content on JSTOR. 

Is JSTOR mobile compatible? ​JSTOR’s interface automatically adapts to the screen size of a device without requiring a separate mobile URL or any device configuration. Just go directly to www.jstor.org on a smartphone or tablet, and the screen will adjust accordingly.