United Brethren Historical Center
Hours
Closed Dec. 15, 2023 - Jan. 1, 2024
Mon. - Thur. 1 p.m. - 5 p.m.
Closed: Fri., Sat., Sun. & Holidays
Researchers are welcome. An appointment is necessary. Contact Randy Neuman for an appointment.
Historical Center Director
Huntington University
2303 College Avenue
Huntington, IN 46750
The United Brethren Historical Center is located on the lower level of the RichLyn Library at Huntington University in Huntington, Indiana. The Center was established in 1989 with the merger of the Archives of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ and the Archives of Huntington University.
Huntington University Archives
The Huntington University Archives contains material from the following educational institutions:
- Hartsville College (Hartsville, Indiana), 1850-1896
- College of Philomath (Philomath, Oregon), 1897-1914
- Central College (Huntington, Indiana), 1897-1917
- Huntington College (Huntington, Indiana) 1917-2005
- Huntington University (Huntington, Indiana), 2005-
- Material from various defunct United Brethren educational institutions is also welcome. At one time or another the United Brethren operated over 30 educational institutions.
See the Huntington University Archives guide for the various types of material available.
United Brethren Archives
The United Brethren Archives collects material from the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (1800-1889) and the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (Old Constitution, 1889 to present). The vast majority of general historical church records including records on individual congregations and pastors are from the period after 1889. We do not normally have information on church members including baptismal or membership records. Please see the United Brethren Archives guide for specific information.
For information pertaining to the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (New Constitution, 1889-1946) or Evangelical United Brethren Church (1946-1968) please contact the United Methodist Church. See the Our History page to learn about the church division.
Genealogical Information
Records of pastoral service are held by the United Brethren Archives and are available to genealogical researchers. As a norm the archives do not contain records of individual members. We do have an obituary index of over 30,000 United Brethren that spans from 1835 to 1999. These obituaries were published in the various United Brethren periodicals and include information on both pastors and laity. For more information on the genealogical services of the archives please see the Genealogical Information guide.
United Brethren Historical Center Digital Repository
The Digital Repository of the UBHC contains material that has been digitized by the Historical Center. Current focus is on the periodical collections of both the United Brethren and Huntington University. Further projects will include material of the United Brethren Historical Library and documents of the Church of the United Brethren in Christ. The link below will send you to our digital repository site.
- The Religious TelescopeThe Religious Telescope was published by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ from 1834 to 1889. After 1889 it was published by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (New Constitution). It merged with the Evangelical Messenger in 1946 to become the Telescope Messenger. It ceased publication in 1963.
- The Christian ConservatorThe Christian Conservator was published by the Church of the United Brethren in Christ (Old Constitution) from 1885 to 1954. The publication merged with the Missionary Monthly in 1954 to form The United Brethren.
- Missionary MonthlyThe Missionary Monthly was published in Huntington, Indiana by The Church of the United Brethren in Christ (Old Constitution) from 1897 to March 1954 when it merged with The Christian Conservator to form The United Brethren.
New Books
