Chemistry: Find Articles
Full Text Periodicals
RichLyn Library has access to many full-text journals and magazines in the subject of Chemistry. A list with links to individual titles can be found at
Chemistry Article Databases
Although RichLyn Library has very few databases that focus on chemistry journals there are a few very good general databases that should provide more than enough material for your research. Please consider using the following databases:
-
PubChem This link opens in a new windowPubChem is the world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
-
Academic Search Elite This link opens in a new windowThis multidisciplinary database offers access to over 1,300 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals.
-
National Technical Reports Library This link opens in a new windowThe National Technical Reports Library (NTRL) is now offering the American public free public access to a searchable online database of approximately three million federal science and technology reports. The reports cover a wide variety of topics. You must register to search and download the PDFs.
Other Search Engines
-
American Chemical Society PublicationsPublications of the American Chemical Society can be searched directly from this site. Please note that we do not subscribe to most ACS publications so the articles will need to be ordered through Interlibrary Loan.
Interlibrary Loan for Articles
Interlibrary Loan is a process to obtain an article from another library that is not available through RichLyn Library as full text. Most articles can be filled within 24 business hours but it still wise to plan ahead for those unforeseen delays in the process.
RichLyn Library has access to over 50,000 journals in approximately 100 databases. Many of the journals have full-text articles but for those articles that are not full text Interlibrary Loan is a fast and efficient way to supplement your research with articles that are not available directly through on of the databases.
There are several ways to request a article or book chapter through Interlibrary Loan and directions for each method is detailed on our Interlibrary Loan page.