Music: Find Books, Scores & Recordings
Locating items in RichLyn Library
Lower Level
Library of Congress
A to F & L
Curriculum Materials &
all media except Music CDs
Main Level
Reference
Current Periodicals
Upper Level
Library of Congress
G to Z
Bound Periodicals
Music Scores
Music Recordings
Government Documents
Resources in Other Libraries
Many of the books found in Worldcat, and Google Books can be borrowed for other libraries through interlibrary loan. To find out more about how to use Interlibrary Loan to request materials from other libraries please consult the Interlibrary Loan guide.
RichLyn Library also belongs to the PALNI consortium consisting of 24 private academic libraries in Indiana. Students and faculty at Huntington University may borrow directly from these institutions. You may also have material from these libraries delivered directly to RichLyn Library for pickup. Click on PALShare Request in the Library Discovery Service to request the item.
Many libraries do not typically lend CDs or DVDs. Check with the Interlibrary Loan Librarian for their availability.
Books normally ordered from libraries in Indiana usually take anywhere from a few days to two weeks. PALShare requests normally take two to three business days. We will notify you when the material is received.
To find books, DVDs, scores and sound recordings in the library search the Library Discovery System at RichLyn Library. You may want to use the Advanced search if you are trying to locate an item in a specific format
RichLyn Library Discovery System
The Library Discovery System will help searchers:
- Find books and other resources located in the library
- Find articles that relate to their topic
- Allow access to materials online
- Show the researcher materials that can be requested on Inter Library Loan
eBooks
- Ebook Central This link opens in a new windowAn e-book collection spanning all academic areas with over 100,000 titles. (HU login required)
- eBook Collection This link opens in a new windowThe eBook Collection provides access to a portion of Huntington University's e-book and e-audio collections
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowProvides full access to hundreds of scholarly journals usually back to the beginning of the journal. Most have a 5-6 year embargo on new issues. It also includes a large collection of eBooks.
Streaming Music
Naxos Music Library is one of the largest suppliers of streaming classical music. Most of your listening needs can be met using this resource. If by chance a particular recording does not appear on Naxos please contact the Collection Development Librarian for possible interlibrary loan or purchase.
- Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowNaxos Music Library [NML] is the world´s largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 146,600 albums with more than 2,200,000 tracks of both standard and rare repertoire. Over 600 new albums are added to the library every month.
The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 800 record labels, with more labels joining every month. Along with classical music, jazz, world, and pop/rock are also represented.
