Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image
Fort Wayne and Arizona Resource Centers
Academic Center for Excellence/Writing Center
United Brethren Historical Center/Archives

Interlibrary Loan

How to request an article from a journal or a chapter from a book

RichLyn Library has access to over 50,000 full text journals in over 100 databases. Although you can probably find the majority of your research articles in the full text journals we subscribe to there are always a few that are not available locally. In these cases it is possible to make an Interlibrary Loan Article Request. Article requests are usually made from the database you are searching. For those articles not found in one of our databases you may use the form provided in our WorldCat Local or Discovery catalog. Both processes are outlined below.

RichLyn Library does not charge students or employees of the university for article delivery but occasionally lending libraries do charge for their services and those charges may be passed on to the consumer. You can indicate on the Interlibrary Loan forms the maximum amount you wish to pay for an article. Supply $0 or FREE if you do not wish to pay anything. Most libraries that do have a fee for articles will charge between $11 and $25. If we cannot find a FREE lending library we will contact you to see if are willing to pay for a copy.

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan from an Ebscohost Database

After searching any of the Ebscohost databases you will most likely come up with a "Results List." Many on the lists will be full text PDFs or HTMLs but a few may appear as having no full text. See result number 1 below:

In Result 1 you will see two options circled in red. Please click on Click here for possible full text options first. It is possible that the article may be in another database we have purchased. This link will take you to Google Scholar where it will tell you there is access to this article through RichLyn Library.

You will notice in the upper right hand corner is a link to sagepub.com. This is one of RichLyn Library's subscription databases and although the article is not found in the Ebscohost database it can be found in Sage. By clicking on this link you will be taken directly to the article. If we did not have access to this article in any of our databases this area would be blank.

After you have checked for access and found that we do not have the article in any RichLyn Library database you may then click on the Request ILL link as indicated below.

After you click on Request ILL an Ebscohost ILL form will appear. You must fill in all the boxes with the red asterisk (*). 

Please fill in the following fields"

  • Name: your first and last name - if you do not indicate your last name the request may be rejected
  • Address: indicate HU Campus, FW Campus or Peoria Campus
  • E-mail: please use your HU email address
  • Phone: please provide a phone number where you may be reached.
  • Date needed: indicated ASAP or at least one week from the date of request
  • Cost not to exceed: indicate FREE, 0, or the amount you are willing to pay (between $11 and $25)

Click the Submit button at the bottom of the page to send the request.

Once you click Submit you should receive a confirmation page informing you that the request has been sent. 

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan Article through WorldCat (Option 1)

If you are searching Worldcat Discovery and find an article that is not available in one of the RichLyn Library databases you can still request the article through Interlibrary Loan. In the example below you will see two articles. The first indicates it is available in one of the RichLyn Library databases because it has a blue "View full text" button. Just click on the link to access the article. The second article does not have a "View full text" button and does not say "Held by: Huntington University RichLyn Library". 

If you click on the title of the second article the availability information will be displayed. Under the Availability heading you will see two blue buttons with "Request Interlibrary Loan" on them. Because this is an article and not a book you may use either button to request the ILL, they both do the same thing. The first button just informs you that there are libraries within our consortia who have this article and you may receive faster service from the consortia.

After you click on the "Request Interlibrary Loan" button an interlibrary loan form appears, as in the example below.

Fill in the following fields:

  • First Name
  • Last Name
  • Your E-mail
  • Phone number (optional)
  • Choose student or faculty/staff
  • Choose how soon you need it: 1 to 4 weeks

Look over the citation information to make sure it is complete and correct. Failure to include complete citation information may delay or cancel your request. Include any special instructions in the last box.

  • Click on the black SEND button that appears after your personal information in the middle of the page.

Once you click on the SEND button you will get a confirmation message at the top of the screen and a confirmation email will be sent to the email address you provided in the form.

Requesting an Interlibrary Loan Article through WorldCat (Option 2)

If you have a citation to an article that you would like to request you may do so through WorldCat Discovery.

Go to WorldCat Discovery and click on the Library Links button:

Next click on Journal Titles:

And then click on the Articles button:

Fill in the form as completely as possible. You must include a Journal Title or ISSN. 

After filling in the form click on the Search button:

If the item is not available in one of the Library's databases click on the Request Interlibrary Loan button:

Fill in the request form as completely as possible. Also check the citation information. Occasionally the form leaves out elements. Please fill any missing elements that you can. This will expedite you request.

When the form is complete click on the Send button in the middle of the page:

Once you click on the SEND button you will get a confirmation message at the top of the screen and a confirmation email will be sent to the email address you provided in the form.